News Archive

Parks & Recreation is Going Green

contribute's picture

The Hopkinton Parks and Recreation Commission, in cooperation with the Town of Hopkinton’s commitment to “go green”, has announced that it will be releasing its Fall / Winter Activity Brochure only in online format. Activity Brochures will no longer be mailed to Hopkinton households each season.

rflannery's picture

The Chief's Beat: A Message to Motorists as the School Year Begins

The Hopkinton Police Department would like to remind everyone that the Hopkinton Public Schools will be opening on Tuesday August 30, 2011.
To help protect the children we urge motorists to:

- Slow down near schools and in residential areas
- Obey speed limit of 20 MPH in School Zone when lights are flashing
- Plan for extra travel time if you’ll be traveling during times when children will be traveling to and from school
- Use extra caution at intersections, crosswalks and other locations where children may be walking to and from school

Invitation from Superintendent Landman

michelle's picture

Read the welcome letter sent to parents from School Superintendent Dr. Jonathan Landman and his invitation to participate in one of his upcoming public forums.

Dear Hopkinton Parents and Guardians:

Carolyn (Ingram) Duffy, 82

contribute's picture

Carolyn (Ingram) Duffy, of Hopkinton, where she has lived for over 50 years, died Sunday, August 21, 2011 at the Medway Country Manor. She was 82.

Born in Hyannis, she was the daughter of the late Frank O. and Celia May (Wordell) Ingram, and was raised in Falmouth.

She was a homemaker and the wife of the late Martin F. Duffy, who passed in 1998. She had worked for Dunkin Donuts in Milford when her children were young.

Arrest Made in Break-In at High School

michelle's picture

Hopkinton Police responded to the High School for a burglar alarm activation on Tuesday, August 23, 2011 at approximately 12:45AM. Upon their arrival, officers observed a subject running about inside the school and requested assistance from Holliston and Ashland as well as from the Massachusetts State Police K-9 unit.

According to a press release issued this morning, officers noticed an open exterior door and a subject attempting to flee the school, but the subject was quickly apprehended and taken into custody.

Conversation with Superintendent Landman

michelle's picture

Another opportunity to share your ideas, views and concerns with Hopkinton's new Superintendent of Schools, Dr. Jonathan Landman. Landman will be holding another public forum for parents and other interested community members at the Hopkins Library on Thursday, August 25 from 12-2PM. To see the invitation and RSVP, Click Here.

Wi-Fi Now Available at Town Hall

michelle's picture

Wireless internet service for public use is now available in public meeting rooms at Town Hall for individuals attending meetings or conducting business. Coverage is available in the Selectmen's Hearing Room 215, Room 216, Room 211 and the third floor conference area near the Land Use Counter and in Room 107.

"This wireless network will also provide town boards, committees and commissions seamless and secure connectivity to key town documents during meetings," said Town Manager Norman Khumalo.

Photos from Lake Whitehall Canoe Trip

michelle's picture

Check out the photos from my recent canoe trip on Lake Whitehall at Scene in Hopkinton. See if you can find the heron. It's in several photos, but hard to spot in a few.

michelle's picture

Senior Picnic 2011

Representative Carolyn Dykema welcomed seniors from Hopkinton, Holliston, Medway, Southboro and Westboro yesterday to her annual Senior Picnic held at the New England Laborer's Training Center in Hopkinton. Watch the HCAM News video for the full story!

Stephanie's picture

Animal Adventures at the Hopkinton Library

Snakes, and wallabies, and alligators, oh my! The library was transformed into a petting zoo on August 16th. It was all part of a presentation conducted by Animal Adventures, a Bolton based company dedicated to educating the public about various exotic animals. Educator Dan Gavin was on hand to show off and teach the eager kids all about the animals.

For the many kids that packed into the library, the highlight of the presentation was actually getting to interact with the animals including a skunk (deskunked of course!), and even an alligator!


Subscribe to HCAM News