Hopkinton Education Foundation Annual Golf Ball Drop Raises Over $7,000

contribute's picture

HOPKINTON, MA, JUNE 6, 2014 -- The 7th Annual Hopkinton Education Foundation Golf Ball Drop was held Monday, June 2nd at Hopkins Elementary School, and raised just over $7,000. The money will be used for funding the next cycle of educational grant awards for the Hopkinton public schools.

This year, three individuals had their lucky ball land in the hole, resulting in a three-way split of the $1,000 grand prize. Congratulations go to the winners: Mara Power of Hopkinton, Erin Kelleher of Malden, and Clelland Johnson of Hopkinton. The $100 consolation prize for the ball landing furthest from the ‘pin’ was awarded to Pam Campagna of Hopkinton.

The weather and winds cooperated this year and several groups were able to enjoy tethered rides on the RE/MAX Hot Air Balloon after the ‘drop.’ Consigli Construction of Milford provided an 85’ lift for the drop in case it was too windy to use the balloon, but it was not required. The crowd of more than 100 people enjoyed face painting, balloon rides and refreshments under the beautiful summer skies.

We extend our thanks to everyone in the community who supported the event by purchasing or selling tickets, as well as the many individuals who donated their time and energy to making the event a success, including: RE/MAX Executive Realty for sponsoring the event, and RE/MAX agents Eileen Sullivan, Mary Korbey, Chuck Joseph and John Savignano, who volunteered their time organizing the balloon operations; RE/MAX Balloon pilot Chris Mooney and crew chief Jeff Ratcliffe; and Consigli Construction, for providing the back-up lift.

We also thank the many Hopkinton Education Foundation Board and family members who helped coordinate the evening, including Hopkinton Education Foundation committee members Amy Arthur, Pamela Zorn Adams, Maureen Belger, Jen Breslin, Christine Coffman, Michele Crowe, Elizabeth Gormley, Sherry Grady, Clelland Johnson, Bruce MacDonald, Tracey Scannevin, Amy Schwartz, Alexis Miller, Holly Miller, Melinda Rottas, Stephanie Szewczyk and Mini Sulur. In addition, we are very grateful to the many Hopkinton High School student volunteers that joined to help with the event.