Video: Boston Marathon 2017 Recap

tom's picture

-Geoffrey Kirui of Kenya won the mens title with a time of 2.09.37 and Edna Kiplagat took home the women's title with a time of 2.21.52.

-2014 Boston Marathon winner and local hero, Meb Keflezighi ran his final compeititve Boston Marathon and placed 12th overall.

-America had a great showing in the Marathon, 6 of the top 10 runners on the mens side were from America, including 2nd place Galen Rupp who finished in 2nd just 21 seconds behind the winner. On the women's side, 2 americans finished in the top 10, Jordan Hasay in 3rd and Desiree Linden in 4th.

In the Wheelchair race, the Swiss swept. Manuela Schar, of Switzerland, won the women’s wheelchair division, shattering the previous marathon record in the process with a time of 1:28:16. The prior record time of 1:34:06 was set in 2011. Marcel Hug, of Switzerland, won in the men’s wheelchair division edging Ernst Van Dyk, of South Africa. Hug secured his third straight marathon win, and his finishing time of 1:18:04 is a new course record.

View more from this years Boston Marathon below including highlights from Kenya day at Elmwood!