Skip to main content

Town Election Results are in!

By Tom Nappi, News Director

The town election results were made official Monday Night about an hour after the polls closed at 8pm. The only contested race was school committee in which 2 seats were available. It was a close race between the 3 candidates Kelly Knight, Lori Nickerson and Frank Sivo. Knight and Nickerson were elected to the school committee.

School committee
Kelly Knight - 1230
Lori Nickerson - 1173
Frank Sivo - 1028.

Both questions on the ballot passed:
Question 1: "Shall the Town of Hopkinton be required to reduce the amount of real estate and personal property taxes to be assessed for the fiscal year beginning July first, two thousand and fourteen by an amount equal to $1,250,000?”

Question 1 passed 1421-528

Question 2: ◾“Shall the Town of Hopkinton be allowed to exempt from the limitations imposed by Chapter 59, Section 21C of the Massachusetts General Laws (Proposition 2 1/2, so-called), the amounts required to pay for the bond issued for costs related to the renovation, restoration, expansion, construction and reconstruction of the Hopkinton Public Library?”

Question 2 passed 1363-736

Other Candidates elected into office:
◾SELECTMEN, For 3 years, John M Coutinho, Republican

◾BOARD OF ASSESSORS, For 3 years, John L Palmer

◾BOARD OF HEALTH, For 3 years, Jennifer Belesi, Republican

◾BOARD OF LIBRARY TRUSTEES, For 3 years, June A Harris, Republican, Stanley D Pulnik

◾CEMETERY COMMISSIONER, For 3 years, Claire B Wright, Republican

◾COMMISSIONER OF TRUST FUND, For 3 years, Muriel E Kramer, Democrat

◾HOUSING AUTHORITY, For 5 years, Warren E Johnson

◾PARKS & RECREATION COMMISSION, For 3 years, Timothy W Kilduff, Amy K Markovich

◾PLANNING BOARD, For 5 years, Francis J DeYoung, Republican